Emily asked in PetsDogs · 7 years ago

Is 4 to 5 years to old to spay a lab mix?

I am going to be getting a dog from a friend who is 4 or 5 years old. She is a black lab mix and has not been spayed. I was wondering if she is too old for the surgery or if she will be able to handle the surgery.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • H
    Lv 7
    7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

She is not too old. I'm glad that you are having her spayed. It will be the same as if she were a puppy.

Source(s): Long time dog owner
  • 7 years ago

Never too old to get a dog spayed or neutered. If the dog is not being bred it actually helps prevent very serious life threatening reproductive problems. Any time is a good time for a spay. The risk gets higher as the dog ages but only due to the anesthetics. The dog is middle aged so it should be fine.

Source(s): I am a veterinary technician
  • 7 years ago

Neither too old nor too young. She'll be fine.

Bear in mind spaying, while it decreases the chance of malignant mammary tumors (and almost complete eliminates benign mammary tumors) and eliminates the risk of pyometra, can increase the risk of bone cancer, thyroid problems, joint problems, etc... However, these risks are more an issue for dogs spayed too young (before their first heat), and wouldn't be a huge issue in a dog her age (there are risks to both spaying and not spaying, though - spaying at a mature age is probably actually a good way to hedge the bets between them, so she's at a good age for it).

• Anonymous
    7 years ago

Not too old at all. That's the usual age I get my females spayed, after they have finished their show/breeding careers.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • ?
    Lv 4
    7 years ago

Never too old to spay!

Well done for being responsible!

• 7 years ago

Never too old... definitely get her spayed... it is from now on that she could have problems if not spayed.

• Rae
    Lv 6
    7 years ago