Should I major in social work or communications?

I'm about to be a junior in college and I'm majoring in social work. I've had a change of heart bc I want a degree that will be more marketable. However, Idk if a communications degree would be worth it and if so what would my salary be like. I'm passionate about helping others but I also need to make a decent living without having to live paycheck to paycheck. Which is why I'm considering switching to a communications major. I need advice I don't know where I'm heading in life

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Trance, ultimately it is best to figure out what specific jobs you want to do, do an online job search to see what degree(s) employers prefer for the job, and then do an online job search to see how many positions are open in your area and do a nationwide search as well to see whether you may need to relocate for a job once you graduate college. Indeed is a good online job search http://www.indeed.com/

I have both an undergraduate and graduate degree in social work, and contrary to what someone posted........not in debt up to my ears either. Nor do I live pay check to pay check. Whatever college degrees we get, we have to know how to use them to work for us. We need to know and learn how to network professionally, and how to check into ways to make college affordable. Scholarships, fellowships and assistantships in graduate school can pay your tuition plus provide a stipend if graduate school is something you wanted to pursue.

I believe that we must consider our personality as well when looking at careers. At the end of the day, you want to feel comfortable in what you do. It may help you to write down your goals, to include your dreams and also what makes you tick.

• 7 years ago