Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

em asked in Arts & HumanitiesHistory · 7 years ago

Explain the Confederate States of America, i.e. political leaders, beliefs, states, the nation’s capital, cons?

1 Answer

  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    The Confederate States of America (CSA, also known as the Confederacy) was the confederation formed by the southern states that seceded from the United States during the period of the American Civil War. The 11 states of the Confederacy were Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia.

    The Confederacy was formed on February 4, 1861, and Jefferson Davis was selected as its first President of the Confederate States the next day.

    Its constitution was based to a certain extent on both the Articles of Confederation and on the United States Constitution, but it reflected a stronger philosophy of states' rights, and also contained explicit protection of the institution of slavery. It differed from the US Constitution in that the federal government was prohibited from issuing protective tariffs or funding internal improvements, but was mandated to protect the institution of slavery in the territories. At the same time, however, much of the Confederate constitution was a word-for-word duplicate of the US one. At the drafting of the Constitution of the Confederacy, many radical proposals such as allowing only slave states to join and the reinstatement of the Atlantic slave trade were turned down. The Constitution specifically did not include a provision allowing states to secede, since the southerners believed this to be a right inherent in the U.S. Constitution, and thus including it as such would have weakened their original argument for secession.

    The capital of the Confederacy was Montgomery, Alabama, from February 4, 1861, until May 29, 1861, when it was moved to Richmond, Virginia. (Richmond was named the new capital on May 6, 1861.) Shortly before the end of the war the Confederate government evacuated Richmond with plans to relocate further south to Atlanta, Georgia, or to Columbia, South Carolina, but little came of this before Lee's surrender.

    Jefferson Davis (Mississippi) - President of the Confederate States

    Alexander Stephens (Georgia) - Vice-President

    Robert Toombs (Georgia) - (1st) Secretary of State

    Leroy Pope Walker (Alabama) - Secretary of War

    George W. Randolph (Virginia) - Brig. General, then Secretary of War (March - November 1862)

    John C. Breckinridge (Kentucky) - Secretary of War, and former V.P. of the U.S. under James Buchanan

    Judah P. Benjamin (Louisiana) - Attorney General, then Secretary of War, then Secretary of State

    Stephen R. Mallory (Florida) - Secretary of the Navy

    Christopher G. Memminger (South Carolina) - Secretary of the Treasury

    John H. Reagan (Texas) - Postmaster General

    John Tyler- Confederate Congressman-elect, and former U.S. President

    Howell Cobb (Georgia) - President of Congress, and former U.S. Speaker of the House

    William L. Yancey (Alabama) - Senator & Commissioner

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.