Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesHistory · 6 years ago

In what order did the countries leave the soviet union, and when?

In which order also with the day, month, and year. Here were the members.

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan

The reason for wanted to know this is I have a school project! Also thanks for the help!

1 Answer

  • Philip
    Lv 6
    6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) formally ceased to exist on 26 December 1991. On this day, the dissolution of the Soviet Union was finalized by declaration no. 142-H of the Soviet of the Republics of the Supreme Soviet of the Soviet Union, acknowledging the independence of the twelve republics of the Soviet Union that created the Commonwealth of Independent States.

    Chronology of Declarations of Restored States

    Before the coup

    Lithuania – March 11, 1990

    Estonia (transitional) – March 30, 1990

    Latvia (transitional) – May 4, 1990

    During the coup

    Estonia (effective) – August 20, 1991

    Latvia (effective) – August 21, 1991

    Chronology of Declarations of Newly Independent States

    States with limited recognition are shown in (parentesis).

    Before the coup

    (Abkhazia) - August 25, 1990

    (Transnistria) - September 2, 1990

    Georgia – April 9, 1991

    After the coup

    Zviazda, a state newspaper of the Belarusian SSR, issue from August 25, 1991. Headline says, Belarus is independent!

    Ukraine – August 24, 1991

    Belarus – August 25, 1991

    Moldova – August 27, 1991

    Kyrgyzstan – August 31, 1991

    Uzbekistan – September 1, 1991

    (Nagorno-Karabakh) - September 2, 1991

    Tajikistan – September 9, 1991

    Armenia – September 21, 1991

    Azerbaijan – October 18, 1991

    Turkmenistan – October 27, 1991

    (South Ossetia) - November 28, 1991

    Russia – December 12, 1991 (On this date the Supreme Soviet of the Russian SFSR formally ratified the Belavezha Accords, denounced the 1922 Union Treaty, and recalled Russian deputies from the Supreme Soviet of the USSR).

    Kazakhstan – December 16, 1991

    United Nations membership

    In a letter dated December 24, 1991, Boris Yeltsin, the President of the Russian Federation, informed the United Nations Secretary-General that the membership of the USSR in the Security Council and all other UN organs was being continued by the Russian Federation with the support of the 11 member countries of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

    The other fourteen independent states established from the former Soviet Republics were all admitted to the UN:

    The Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic and the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic had already joined the UN as original members on October 24, 1945, together with the USSR. After declaring independence, the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic changed its name to Ukraine on August 24, 1991, and on September 19, 1991, the Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic informed the UN that it had changed its name to Belarus.

    Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania were admitted to the UN on September 17, 1991.

    Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan were admitted to the UN on March 2, 1992.

    Georgia was admitted to the UN on July 31, 1992.

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.