Marissa asked in PetsHorses · 7 years ago

What are my chances of getting this job?

I know, only the owner can give me the real final answer but if I came to your barn, would you hire me?

I've been working at barns for 4 years although I've only worked for lessons, not real money like this job will be.

I catch on and remember things quickly.

I've dealt with untrained/spooky Arabians (worked at a farm that specifically bred Arabians), I then moved on to a stable that races Thoroughbreds and took care of them.

I've watched a farm for over a week multiple times with 50+ horses (Not an exaggeration, there were literally 50 or more horses there between the owners horses, horses in training, and horses being boarded) (which this was the Arabian farm)

I used to clean 17 stalls daily plus feed/water, lead out to the paddocks, and scrub water buckets

I can lead, feed, lunge, water, groom, clean, I know how to drive and control a bobcat.

I genuinely love horses and all animals, I would never ever do anything to put any in harm.

This new barn I have an interview with only has 15 horses so it would be quite a lot less work for me..

My only problem is she asked for references, one having to be an old trainer/boss at the other barns...

The arabian barn didn't end very well (I took the blame for my best friend who worked there too and yeah...) so I don't feel comfortable using her...

The Thoroughbred barn is mainly a summer job and unfortunately I lost all the information about the lady I worked with (Phone broke) and I can't just "google" her barn to get the info again because it wasn't her barn, she like me, only helps out there but she gets paid whereas I got lessons from her..

Considering I don't have the horse reference (I am trying hard to find some information though) do you think this would be a deal breaker? :/

I know it sounds weird but working at a barn is literally my dream job LOL

Thanks!!

6 Answers

Relevance
    Lv 7
    7 years ago