Microsoft Stock (MSFT) vs. Google Stock (GOOG), also Yandex (YNDX) and Baidu Inc (ADR)?

I have a few questions regarding the stocks of several companies. I am trying to improve my understanding of how stocks work, and I am a novice at this.

1) Looking at the historical stock prices of MSFT, I have noticed that Microsoft remains between a certain price range, whereas GOOG has begun from a low price and over the course of years, has greatly appreciated its stock prices. Why is this? Is this because Microsoft is mostly a dividend-paying company whereas Google targets gains in the stock price? I know that I'm comparing a software company to a search engine company, so that doesn't make a lot of sense, but why does the MSFT stock prices remain within a limited range?

2) Do you think that GOOG has reached a saturation point? Considering the censorship laws in China, and a 1-billion user market, Baidu Inc (ADR) is the sector leader in China. Do you think that it's a good buy? The stock price trends seem to be going up. Would you expect Baidu to grow as much as Google in the long-term (5 to 10 years)?

3) Do you think that Yandex (YNDX) has potential to grow further, and would this be reflected in its stock prices? Is it, therefore, a good buy at the moment? What sounds like a better investment for you - Baidu Inc. or Yandex? I believe Yandex has 60% of the Russian market, and provides services to nearby countries, as well as providing services such as free mail, a payment system similar to paypal, and a gps system similar to google maps.

4) Where do you see Baidu and Yandex stock prices in 5 years? In 10? More than 10?

Thanks a lot in advance!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Buy Bonds, no stock on an open market is a safe 10 years investment.

Any stock that says or sales rep that promises a better than %14 increase is a sham.

Baidu is old news, Yandex is cloudy, at best.

Look at how other .ru have performed over the last five years.