Tips on getting accepted into the University of Michigan?

I'm a sophomore with a 3.9 GPA. Next year, I'm beginning the full IB program. My HL (higher level) classes will be biology, Spanish (or English. Advice on this?), and history. On my PSAT, I got a 2300. I plan on retaking it, along with the ACT. I'm currently in Drama Club, but have to stop, because I don't like it. I took a service trip to the Dominican Republic last year. I hate sports, and don't plan to lead anything any time soon. This summer, I'm going to Lebanon to work at my Dad's friend's clinic for the entire 3 months. I have also volunteered at a day care for a month. Anything else I can do? ANY advice is welcome. Oh, and I always do my homework and ask for help when I don't understand a concept.

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Are you a Michigan resident? That is kind of the most important factor here.

Just do other extracurriculars that are not sports if you "hate" them. I think your service trips are fine, but they do not quite make up for your relative deficit in extracurricular activities as compared with your classmates. Of course you get a 3.9 GPA, you do not do anything but school, you know? I do not mean that in a mean way, but people who have other things going on in their lives have less time than you do. If you dedicate yourself to one task, like school and have no other activities, then you should be getting a 3.9 :)

My activities in high school were:

(1) tennis (3 years)

(2) soccer (1 year, I was not good enough)

(3) chorus (4 years, my final year I was in the highest level [audition] choir)

(4) men's ensemble (3 years)

(5) forensics (4 years, extemporaneous and impromptu speaking)

(6) policy debate (2 years, national circuit)

(7) DECA (3 years)