Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsOther - Sports · 6 years ago

What skateboard should I get?

I have never skated in my life, and I want to start now. I know absolutely nothing about longboards besides the fact that i want one with a pointy front and a back that is flipped up a bit.

Im a uni student so it will mostly be for getting around and just having fun, but i guess ill probably learn tricks later.

basically i just want to know

- should i get a built one or make it myself?

- what length should i get (friends have told me 28" - 34" - whatever that is)?

- What is the difference between all these trucks im seeing on skate sites?

- What is the difference between all these wheels im seeing on skate sites (Hardness, diameter)?

- What kind of price should i pay for a starter board?

Update:

Forgot to add that I want a cruiser long board

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I would build one because the price usually comes out cheaper and you get what you want. It's custom and fun to assemble

I wouldn't worry about length. Just know longer is heavier and more stable; on the other hand, short is just the opposite lighter and turns sharper. Shorter boards generally are more prone to speed wobbles, which is why downhill boards are longer. Avoid most downhill boards for cruising, because some are really tough to maneuver.

With trucks, try to keep it the same width as the deck is the basic rule. Also consider smaller width trucks if you get wide off-set wheels like zig-zags by abec 11.

For hardness, lower numbers in the range of 78a-84a are great for cruising.

low numbers quiets road noises and adds more grip.

higher numbers are louder but are faster.

If the road is really rough look into the 78a. if the road is ultra smooth, look into the 86a.

watch out for the hard hard wheels that reach into 96a and higher, those will be just loud and obnoxious for cruising.