Best skateboard for beginners?

So I want to get back into skating. I need to be able to turn easily, as I'm going to be skating on the sidewalk mostly, considering my street is nowhere near "smooth". I also need a fast moving skateboard that can maintain said speed, because my street is also mostly flat. Other than the extremely steep hill down the road.

Anyhow, extra info on me is that I'm 5'4, 13, about 120 pounds, and I'm a size 10 1/2 shoe. I'm trying to do simple tricks such as a kick-flip or a manual, nothing too advanced. So in short, I want a fast, nice grip pre-built skateboard(as I have no knowledge of building my own) that can do simple tricks.

And no, I don't have a local skate shop, so that's out.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Best Answer

I'll try my best to help you out here. For your interests, Here's what I'd reccomend.

1. Deck: for your shoe size, you'll need a fairly wide deck. Prefferably between an 7.9 to 8.5 inch width. The length doesn't matter for now, you will grow a stance accoustomed to it.

2. Griptape: as a beginner, just have someone else grip it. You can get the color of your choice.

3. Hardware: 1 1/8 inch hardware is ideal.

4. Trucks: Your trucks should be just as wide as your deck. Color doesn't matter. Keep the trucks loose. They're easier to turn on.