Tonya asked in HealthAlternative Medicine · 7 years ago

What kind of annual shots are you suppose to get after a splenectomy?

I got in a car wreck september 23 2012 they had to completely remove my spleen. I have no regular md at the time do to unable to afford insurance. The doctor told me last year i need to get annual shots or it would be difficult to stay healthy. What kind of shots are they ? I am a certified nurses

aide i just started working again a few days ago at a long term care facility. I already have a high risk of getting sick without a spleen on top of the fact i work with a bunch of sick people. Can anyone please help me out?

1 Answer

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi Tonya,

My name is Alyssa and I am a 6th year pharmacy student, so I can help you with your questions! First of all, I am so sorry to hear about your accident and I am glad that you are OK! Unfortunately, it may be tricky to obtain all of the vaccines needed if you do not have a primary care physician or insurance. Fortunately, the ObamaCare affordable insurance exchanges are open on October 1, 2013, just 18 days away! I recommend doing some research into the newly formulated plans that will be available for all citizens. The new ObamaCare is designed so that, hopefully, all U.S. citizens will be able to obtain health insurance to reach the proper care that they need. Your local pharmacy should be able to answer some more direct questions you have regarding which plan best suits you and how to enter into the exchange. You can try calling the pharmacy and setting up an appointment to meet with someone to discuss your specific needs. I will also provide a link to a website in my sources that has an overview of the upcoming changes.