Going on holiday for the first time. Need advice?

I'm planning to go on holiday sometime next year. This will be the first time I will have gone on holiday since I was too young to remember (I'm 20 now). What is the best way to organize a holiday. Best websites, cheapest sites. What do you people use? I am a complete novice to all this son any help at all is more than welcome.

(I'm in the UK)

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Clive
    Lv 7
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

If you want to go somewhere in the UK, you probably know how to get to places by train or coach. There are numerous hotel web sites to find somewhere to stay, so just google "[the place] hotels" and see what happens. So the rest is basically about going outside the UK.

In my younger days (I'm 48) the big thing was package holidays, especially for going abroad. Go to a travel agent, pick up brochures, take them home, find what you like, and go back to the travel agent to book it, or book it by post. That gives you travel and somewhere to stay when you get there for one all-in price. That's still possible. Make sure everyone you deal with is a member of ABTA (Association of British Travel Agents) as they have a compensation scheme for if it all goes badly wrong.

The Internet has rather devastated the package holiday industry now that you can find somewhere to stay and book tickets to get there all online, and so put together your own DIY package. It takes more work, though. And it's the only way if you want to go somewhere abroad that isn't in a brochure. Of course in the days before the Internet, you would go to a travel agent, have a consultation across the desk and see what they can do. You still can.