Kate asked in HealthWomen's Health · 6 years ago

Endometriosis at 19? Birth control?

Over the past 6 months to a year, I've been having a lot of odd menstrual symptoms.

-Cramps (We're talking 4 Advil + 2 Arthritis Strength Tylenol and a hot water bottle, and even then having trouble making it to school/work. I typically have a very high pain tolerance, so this is exceptionally odd.)

-Pain during bowel movements (while on period only)

-Inconsistent periods (early/late)

-Diarrhea/nausea during period

To top it all off, I'm only 19 years old. I'm a college student for whom these issues are really debilitating-- I have to overdose on pain killers some days just to get out of bed and get to class, and even then I just sit there unable to focus due to the pain. I've talked to many of my friends about this, and spent my fair share of time on the internet researching, and the general consensus is that birth control would be a great solution (or at least a solid start) to dealing with these issues.

However, I brought it up to my mother recently and she said she was concerned that I may have endometriosis since my aunt/her sister had the same issues and was diagnosed as such. She had major problems with infertility down the road, and I think that's my mother's main concern. She thinks starting birth control is what I need to o.

For starters, I don't want to have kids anyways. Infertility is not at all a concern for me. And yes, I know that 19 year olds aren't famous for great life decisions, but I'm 100% sure. My concern is that these absolutely horrendous symptoms stop interfering with my life! I'd rather be healthy and have to adopt down the road.

So here's the real question--