? asked in Education & ReferenceTeaching · 7 years ago

I am a teacher of 25 years in Mexico City wanting to teach in Ohio USA?

I have taught school in Mexico City for the last 25 years mostly math courses. I speak 4 languages and have taught students that have special needs as well. I have a degree in Geological engineering but I began teaching when a friend needed some people to teach some courses. Here it's not easy to get a job in your field of study so I accepted his request and I have been a teacher now for over 25 years. Will I be able to become a teacher and educator in Ohio USA? I have developed my own courses and more. I am bilingual (Spanish to English and more, French Portuguese. English, and Spanish are the languages I speak. Would it be possible to teach in Ohio? What would be the requirements for this kind of position?,

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Capt. John couldn't be more wrong! First, we do not have a national curriculum. There are new Common Core Standards in math and language arts only that 47 states have adopted, but that is not a curriculum and it has NOTHING to do with NCLB. Each state still has its own standards, chooses its own materials, and sets its own requirements for teachers. You need to look on the website for the Ohio Department of Education.

Now, many states have special licensure programs for people qualified in areas of need. In many states, those areas include the sciences, special education, and foreign languages. In many cases, you can take the Praxis test in the area you want to teach, and if you pass that, you can start teaching and take a few years to get the education courses (most state universities offer them at night or in the summer). You have a number of skills that qualify you to teach.