Are countertop dishwashers worth the price?

Looking to buy a dishwasher & came across countertops in Consumer Reports. They look very small. The price is right but I don't know if this is a good buy for me. I'm a real cook but being single I don't mess up that many dishes. Has anyone bought & used one? Are they difficult to hook up or do they require a separate hook up kit? They were advertised as primarily for college students but us older lazy people need this kind of thing too. I would appreciate any input.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Unpacking the unit was the hardest part of the installation. It came well protected inside the box with foam and wood crating. Once I got it out of that darn box (not very easy done by one person) it was pretty much a matter of screwing on the pair of hoses included and it was good to go. It came with everything needed to run it right out of the box. It even came with a sample pouch of cascade that lasted about two weeks and a small sampler of rinse agent, which lasted well over a month. I changed the aerator attachment on my tap to the one included with the unit. It fits both male and female threading on the faucet.

The Quick Connect adapter snaps effortlessly onto your tap, and drains directly from the adapter, not a hose hooked onto the sink's edge like other makes. Unlike the Haier units, this one drains fine no matter how much it is below the sink level. It is powerful enough to get all the water out even when set on the floor!