Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Pregnancy & ParentingAdoption · 7 years ago

Should I adopt a bullmastiff!?

I am considering adopting a 1.5 yr old bullmastiff. The current owners say they don't have time for her. My biggest concern is that I have a 2.5 yr old son. The dog has been raised around older children and has been around younger ones I am told. I am new to the breed and am wondering what some experienced owners think. I have heard that Bullmastiffs really bond with their owners, how do they do with second owners (adopters)?? TIA!!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • S
    Lv 4
    7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I won't say yes or no, but here are some facts about that breed and dogs in general. BTW you're in the wrong category, but dogs are one of my favorite topics, so here goes:

They are more aggressive than a Mastiff, and they tolerate children.

If you have doubts about your ability to ALWAYS supervise your dog and your child together, then this is not the dog for you. They will protect their space if they're provoked. Actually, I don't believe in leaving ANY dog alone with a small child, not a Lab, not a Husky, not a Bichon, and definitely not this breed.

Where are you planning on keeping him? This is a breed that should NOT ever be kennelled. If you leave a dog like this unsupervised and alone a large part of the time, you will have an unsocialized, frustrated, untrained, gigantic hot mess on your hands. Do the current owners have him inside or outside? If they've kept him outside, then NO. Do NOT bring this dog home. And as a side note: They drool.