URGENT! How to read this judgement?

I am a law student and my professor has set us a particular case to read. In his papers it says he wants us to read 'A v Hayden (1984) 156 CLR 532 at 578-92 per Brennan J.'

I have found the case but am at a loss as to what he means by '578-92'. The case is only 35 pages long so I'm assuming it doesn't mean page 578 or anything. If ANYONE knows what this means I would be so grateful. I can't email him because he is overseas now. I have searched my citation books but can't work it out.

Thank you.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    6 years ago
    Best Answer

A v Hayden = Case Name

(1984) = Date of Decision

156 = Reporter volume number

CLR = Common Law Reporter

532 = Page the case begins on, in the Reporter

578-92 = Span of specific pages referred to

per Brennan J = Opinion of Justice Brennan, which begins at 578

He just wants you to read Brennan's opinion. Are you sure the excerpt isn't in your casebook?

Here's the case

http://www.austlii.edu.au/cgi-bin/sinodisp/au/case...

If you're reading the case online instead of reading the Reporter in the library, those page numbers for the section are immaterial. Simply type "Brennan" into the "find" box on your browser, and it will scroll right to Brennan's opinion, which is the section your professor wants you to read. It begins: