how to calm nerves before and during a performance?

Hi, i'm a musician I've been doing shows in front of people for 6 years. Problem is i get nervous before ,which you know isn't a big deal. But when i perform on stage i shake and it's hard to sing, Play guitar, and trumpet. (not all at once ha-ha) what can i do to calm down during? I've tried deep breathes and that makes it worse! help!

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Djinn
    Lv 6
    7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Be very well prepared. Know your music inside out. Eat a light meal before the performance. Remember that the audience is on your side. They chose to come see you. The audience has confidence in you. They paid to hear you and they want you to play well and entertain them, so you already have won their enthusiasm before you even start. Stage fright is normal. Read some of the stories told by other performers about their struggles to conquer nervousness. Barbra Streisand, Laurence Olivier, Andrea Bocelli and Adele: they’ve all suffered from stage fright in their careers and talk openly about it. Don't be overwhelmed. Make a connection with someone in the audience who has a friendly face or someone in your band that you are close to and then focus on pleasing just that one person.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 7 years ago

I used to play the oboe and found 'body scan' meditation helpful. It helps relax your muscles and get you to control your breathing. See: http://www.freemindfulness.org/download If you get nervous a few hours before the performance go for a run or do some other exercise that will raise your heart rate and burn off the nervous energy.

Do NOT take deep breaths or gulps or air! Over oxygenating your blood can worsen the symptoms of anxiety. Also, Rescue Remedies or any other homeopathy drops people will try and sell you don't work.