Anonymous
Anonymous asked in PetsFish · 6 years ago

How do you condition tap water for it to be suited in a tank with fishes?

im planning on setting up a starter tank. im new at this and i was wondering if you can use tap water. can fishes survive with no water filter or pump?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

You buy tap water conditioner at the pet store. It says it right on the bottle. Follow all the directions carefully.

All fish require filtration, an air pump and a heater. Please, please, please Google it. There are hundreds of sites to get you started right with aquariums. Each fish will have it's own needs. Just like you wouldn't put a dog in a bird cage...you have to handle each fish properly.

NOTE:

It's a myth that a betta can live in a vase with no heat or filter. They can't. No more than you can live in your closet all day, eating, pooping...no. They don't need an air pump, but that's only because they have a special organ in their gills, and even then, they do better when they have one. ALL other fish need air pumps.

There are books you can read. I know...read a book?!? LOL!

Libraries have them for free. Ask the nice ladies at the desk, they'll show you where to find them.

• 6 years ago

You can use tap water, but you must treat it with a water conditioner, which is pretty cheap and easy to obtain.

A water filter is a must. It will help keep your water condition at a humane level for your fish. The filter cartridge is vital to maintaining healthy water parameters and helping keep your tank clean. Filters can also be obtained cheaply, depending on the size of your tank.

An air pump is not vital, and may actually be disturbing to some species. A filter with an output that disturbs the surface of the water will provide enough aeration for most "starter" fish.