Eric asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 7 years ago

Is being on a navy ship really turn out to what recruiters say? What is it really like?

my dad who worked in communications, a RM1 said the military can be a good or bad thing for someone and he told me not to join. the website makes it look nice but i know some other things may go on too. I've heard a few stories from my dad about stuff. My grandfather in the army told me not to join too. i've also heard that joining the military is like volunteering for jail.

Update:

my father and grandfather make the military seem so bad but i actually have something i want to do which is fly so part of me doesn't belive them

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I guess it depends on each person's situation. When I served aboard a ship, I was an officer who was single and had no dependents. My sleeping quarters were relatively spacious and comfortable. The food was very good since officers pay extra for it. I was able to save a good portion of my salary because I had very little expenses. I enjoyed standing bridge watches and watches down in the Combat Information Center. My main job involved classified work that made it interesting. So I enjoyed my at sea experience.

As an enlisted person aboard a ship, you will have more cramped sleeping quarters. Enlisted pay is not great, although the benefits are. In the checkout line at the commissary, I have seen low ranking married enlisted use food stamps. Besides performing your regular job for 8 hours each day, you will be required to stand 4 hour watches at least once a day, and perform cleaning functions each day. And although there is plenty of food to eat throughout the day, the food quality varies. When at sea for long periods, you might get served powdered food and artificial drinks.