Sam asked in SportsCycling · 7 years ago

Help to convince my dad to let me buy a new bike?

Hi, I'm Sam. I am just starting out with bmx, and now realize I bought a pretty bad bike. I didn't know much about it at the time, but now im getting better at bmx and am in need of a good bike. Here lies the problem. I'm not sure if my dad would allow me to. He spent about 200 an my current one, and I'm afraid to ask him to let me buy another 6 months after he ought me one. I need som advice on how to ask him for it. Here are some things I thought of:

I'm 100% paying for it myself

I'll take amazing care of it

I'll ride it often

That's all I have, and I need some things to say. Also, my dad kinda has a temper that's easy to set off. I asked him for a pet leopard gecko, and he gave me a stern "no" and a scolding. Don't get me wrong,my dad is a great Christian man, but he just gets angry easily. Anyway, help of greatly appreciated

Update:

Also, my mom is extremely supportive of anything used outdoors, so maybe ifi can convince her, she'll convince my dad? Any tips for convincing y mom would be good too

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Keep riding the old bike. Take good care of it and learn how to fix things on it. Clean and wax his car every Sunday before mass. Mow the grass. Get good grades and take some class online during the summer to stay ahead next year. Empty the dishwasher and take the garbage out before they tell you.

• 7 years ago