Jme
Lv 4
Jme asked in Food & DrinkCooking & Recipes · 6 years ago

I'm making seafood gumbo, how do you keep the okra from being slimy?

This is my first time cooking gumbo with okra. Many people say its not gumbo unless you add it in. I have made chicken and sausage gumbo at home many times and never added it because I hate the slime! I'm in a competition and want to add it this time... I just want to make sure and do it right! Help! :)

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Best Answer

You could fry the okra before adding it to the gumbo...

Just a suggestion.

• 6 years ago

The slime is a natural component of okra and to minimize it, you might soak a bit in lemon juice or vinegar solution. When immersed in the gumbo, it should already lose a lot of the slime. Something I don't really mind and if you are in a gumbo contest, the judges will surely expect and not mind the slime of your entry.

• 6 years ago

You won't notice the okra slime after it is cooked. The very name "gumbo" is from either the Bantu word for okra (ki ngombo) or the Choctaw word for filé (kombo).

Source(s): Wiki
  • Laura
    Lv 4
    4 years ago