Still no answer for my work experience request !!!?

Hello everyone,

I am a french student who is in the UK for only a few weeks and as I wish to study medicine there for the future, I tried to get a work experience placement at a hospital in London. But the work experience assistant told me I can't apply because I do not live in the area. Therefore, I directly sent emails to doctors at this hospital and one answered me. Thanks to him the work experience assistant wrote to me and asked me to fill some forms (name, why I wanted to do this ...) I sent them and now I still have no answer. I wrote to her a few days early to know if it was okay (cause I still don't know if I can shadow the doctor) but no answer!! I'm supposed to start the shadowing in 2 days and I am panicking please please please tell me what I should do ? I don't know if I should send another email to the hospital or maybe the work experience assistant will be tired of me ???? please i'm really desperate .

thanks for taking time to read me

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I can only answer as an American for obvious reasons, therefore, this response is not only based upon my own personal experiences as an employee and as a manager hiring others, but also relates to the customs here. However, I can't imagine what I have to say would be inappropriate, but at least you can take my answer into consideration.

I received one of my best jobs ever because of my persistence. This was in the days when we only had paper resumes. Upon calling the phone number listed in the newspaper (where all available jobs were once found), I was told to mail (not email either) my resume into such and such place. They were across town from where I lived, but I immediately walked it in, and handed it to the person doing the hiring, I was told a decision would be made on Friday, four days away. I called everyday reiterating my excitement to work for them and asking if an earlier decision had been made.