How do YOU define the "Jewish Holocaust"?

Discuss in terms of the time frame, actions actions taken by the Nazis and the German government.

I have found many lay persons focus on the extermination process and that's it.

Update:

Great, powerful responses which combined create the perfect answer. Keep 'em coming . . . great discussion in which I agree with most of them.

Some scholars have suggested that the 'holocaust' should be expanded to include others, which was mentioned by one commentor.

Best overall answer gets 10 points. Feel free to amend your responses. No voting and this is not for a school assignment. I have a history degree, but enjoy intellectual discussions from bright individuals.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Bilbo
    Lv 7
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The Shoah IS about extermination for most people, but the persecution starts long before with the introduction of the Nurenberg Race Laws, even earlier with the local activities of the Brownshirts.

The extemination is more usually described as the Final Solution so doesn't really get going until after the Wannsee conference in 1942, but there were all sorts of other proposals eg the Madagascar Plan and all sorts of other atrocities, eg Babi Yar beside the gas chambers.

As your question implies it is certainly not an exclusive genocide, the Jews were one of a number of groups targeted, but far and away the largest.

• ?
    Lv 6
    8 years ago

If one looks at the theory of the eight stages of genocide, as put forth by genocide watch (http://www.genocidewatch.org/genocide/8stagesofgen... ) then the genocide of the Jewish population of Germany started in the early 1930s, and of the Polish Jews soon after the German invasion with the actual mass murdering starting sometime later (ranging from 1939-1942 depending on region).

• Donald
    Lv 7
    8 years ago

Wrong terminology.