Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Kyle asked in SportsFootball (American) · 8 years ago

Is Russell Wilson really as good as his stats say they are?

Hi I'm a little new to football and I am a Seahawks fan. Russel Wilson ended his first NFL season tying Peyton Manning's Rookie TD record with a passer rating of 100.00 and I was just wondering if he is actually any good. Alot of people are saying that he only accomplished all of this through the skill of his teammates rather than his own. Some even say that if Wilson was a QB for, say the Colts or Redskins he would do much worse. Are those people just haters? Or do they actually have a valid point?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Russell Wilson is definitely as good as his stats say they are. Just looking at a few things show that he's definitely lived up to his potential.

He was the ONLY QB this season to beat Aaron Rodgers, Tom Brady, and the San Francisco 49ers, while leading the Seahawks to their best season since 2006 when they lost the Super Bowl. How can you deny that?

Check out some of his games this season:

Week 13 @ Chicago Bears - Wilson lead the Bears on a 92 or 94 yard drive to beat the Chicago Bears, who were a top 5 defense at the time, which had serious implications on the 2013 Playoffs that season.

NFC Divisional @ Atlanta Falcons - The Seahawks led 28-23 with a good 30 seconds to go, and they would have had a victory if not for the big play in the end by Matt Ryan. But the fact that they took the best team in the NFC (record wise) to the limit of a near choke showed that they had resolve.