Wanna file a complaint on a Car dealer who pulled my credit history , we agree on the price?

I went to the car dealer, after I saw the car I liked , and they appraised my car , we agreed on a price difference between my trade in and the car he is selling me , I filed a credit application , they took my information and sent it to 15 different banks and they all did a hard inquiry for my credit report , and then the next day he says that he wanted more money for the vehicle and asked for $3000 more .

So I refused to take the deal , since they changed their word , but they have already pulled out my credit report several times , which hurts my credit score .

What shall I do to report them ? I feel like they fooled me , why would they send my credit application to that many banks and then change their word afterwards ? I wanna get them reported and get the inquiries off my credit report

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Auto finance is what I do for a living and you need to calm down.

First of all the F.I.C.O. system knows when people are looking for either a vehicle or home loan and all applications made within a 30-days period are lumped together. They all show but your credit only takes one hit.

Second report them for what? You applied for the loan all they did was try to get you approved which you gave them permission to do. So what exactly is it your going to report the dealer for doing? The price is not even relevant, whatever was told to you was based on a cash price and subject to change based on your credit. Most all special finance lenders charged dealers for taking their high risk deals. This amount is passed on to the customer as much as possible. Nothing illegal just passing on their cost of doing business.

The inquires are true and accurate information so they will show for 24-months. The effect on your credit is only a couple of points for the first 12-months so don't worry.

Good luck.