Ava asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 8 years ago

Is it necessary to join JROTC, sea cadets, or young marines to have a good chance of getting into Annapolis?

I'm a freshman (girl) in high school and have been interested in attending the US Naval Academy for quite a while now. The only problem is that I don't live close to any of the places where the programs are locate, I've heard from a friend that not being in one of those programs can decrease your chances of getting in by a lot, is that true? Do you know anyone who attends a military academy that has not been in one of those programs? I'm an all honors student, run cross country and track, am in excellent physical fitness, and have accumulated 42 volunteer hours this summer alone. Will not being in these programs seriously decreases my chances of getting accepted?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Dan
    Lv 5
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Those are good choices, but are by no means the only options. Whatever clubs or organizations you do decide to participate in (you had better be participating in SOME extracurricular activities), you should be striving to ensure you take on a leadership position whenever possible.

We didn't have any of those at my high school. But, I joined the Spanish Club. I joined the Rotary/Interact Club. I was a member of the National Honor Society, and took on some minor leadership position there. The local police department had an Explorer post, so I joined that and after a while was selected as the Explorer commander.