Question about petroleum engineering?

Ok, so I am considering my options for my future. I am an A'level student and I am interested in perusing Petroleum Engineering. The thing I need to know is whether or not it is offered at the degree level or is Chemical Engineering a prerequisite to Petro Eng which is at the masters level.

On another note, do you think I am a suitable candidate for either. I am currently studying Pure Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry. I ask because I was considering doing a Physics degree since I like Physics so much but I heard it tends to get difficult and university and I'm afraid that it might be too much for me and I don't want to flunk out. I like Mathematics but I would not want to do a degree in it since I find proofs to be irritating and I heard that Mathematics at that level contains a lot of proofs. Lastly, Chemistry is not one of my favourite subjects but I have an affinity and appreciation for it and this should not be a problem since I heard that Chem E does not contain an enormous amount of Chemistry? The Chem/Petro engineering is also good in that I would be able to continue studying Mathematics and Physics so it should not be that bad right? Please do not suggest that I do Electrical/Mechanical/Civil Engineering. I have NO interest in any of them whatsoever especially Mechanical and Civil.

Now, that I have told you my story/issue can you give me your now educated opinion on my situation because I am really torn between the Physics and the Engineering

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The first two years of any engineering school is the "weed out" years. This means, lots of kids want to be engineers because of the pay and job security, so the schools give very hard calculus , differential equations and basic engineering courses which weed out 80% of that starting class.