Musically dyslexic with a good ear?

Hey all. I've been teaching myself to play piano for about a year. I've played flute for seven years and bass guitar for four. Thus, I'm familiar with both clefs. As a pianist, I have exceptionally nimble fingers and a very good ear - but my ability to read a music and communicate what I see to... show more Hey all.

I've been teaching myself to play piano for about a year. I've played flute for seven years and bass guitar for four. Thus, I'm familiar with both clefs.

As a pianist, I have exceptionally nimble fingers and a very good ear - but my ability to read a music and communicate what I see to my fingers is absolute trash. I can play music in a 5-6 year difficulty level with absolute ease, but I can't read music at a year 2 difficulty level whatsoever.

I can struggle with a piece of music for a month, then learn it in a few hours off of Youtube. Again, my difficulty isn't with the song difficulty - it's that I can't read the notes and play them. Once I know what the notes are, I can play them. I can play along at ~160bpm easy, but I struggle to read music at 5bpm.

If this was fitness, you could say that I'm a weightlifter with huge arms, but my legs are so small I can't stand up. I've tried taking simpler music and slowly reading it, but I just can't find any in a happy medium. If it's too simple, I play the song by ear after I have the rhythm down, and I'm left with little to no benefit. Too difficult and I have to listen to the song to understand the music, then I wind up playing it by ear to fill in the gaps my eyes leave me with. This is a good skill, and I'm happy I have it.. but I want to play The Turkish March, and I'm down to earth enough to know that I can't just play that by listening to it. I need to learn to read music so my fingers can progress to that next level of skill and the ones beyond it - I just can't do it because my reading ability is setting me so far back.