• Best Prosumer Level Camera for under $2000 & Advice •?

Hello Reader.

I'm a film student and I'm currently looking for a Prosumer Level Video Camcorder with a budget of $2,000. Our needs will be some outdoor footage, though nothing too fast-paced or demanding, some interviews, green-screen, and some indoor, on-set filming. Main use would be on a Camera Jib/Crane.

-I would like one that looks, and feels professional.

-I would like a Prosumer Camcorder, not a DSLR.

-I would perfer a camcorder with Digital Recording for SD Cards, but I can work with Mini DV Tapes and record with a FireStore. But I would perfer SD recording over DV as it is more economically feasible.

-Now tell me, would it be better to purchase a camera that can record onto SD Cards, or a camera with DV Tapes, with a flash storage FireStore. Which would be better quality? Remember, I need to transfer this footage onto a Computer.

Requirements:

•XLR Inputs

•Full 1920 x 1080p HD Resolution

•POWER Zoom

•High Definition Video Capture

•View Finder & LCD Screen

•Display Output (For External Video Displays)

•LANC Remote Input (Optional)

•Cinematone Gamma/Color

•High Frames per Second (Optional)

•Good in Low-Light Conditions (Optional)

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much for your time, have a nice day.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Mmm J
    Lv 7
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The advice provided to you at CNET is sound

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-7594_102-593620/best-p...

• Anonymous
    8 years ago