Would you hire a diabetic nanny?

I have an interview for a nanny position and feel very confident that I'm qualified for the job. The children are 3 and 6 years old and I have a lot of experience working with children of these ages. The only thing that I'm worried about is the fact that I have Type 1 Diabetes. To me, this is not a big deal. I check my blood sugar every few hours, inject myself with a shot six times a day (I do this very discreetly and dispose of the needles very carefully), and if I go low I eat a pack of fruit snacks and then I'm fine. I've never passed out or had any major problems. I want to be honest with the parents about my diabetes but I'm afraid that once they hear that I'm diabetic they'll feel like I'm incapable of taking care of their children and won't want to hire me. My question is this: would you (as parents) feel comfortable hiring a nanny that was a type 1 diabetic on shots?

19 Answers

Relevance
  • Best Answer

I'd say yes.

Source(s): Some studies show Yoga can prevent Diabetes, by the way. You might want to look into it. http://usminc.org/Health/Yogaasalternativemedicine...
  • 4 years ago

Source(s): I Cured My Diabetes - http://DiabetesCure.raiwi.com/?lMzN
  • 3 years ago

Source(s): My Diabetes Cured Completely : http://DiabetesGoFar.com/?gkEk
  • 7 years ago

My sister also has type 1 diabetes. The issue for me is I know that if your sugar gets too low you can faint and I'd have a paranoia of a faint nanny with my children. But, my overall decision would depend on how well you are with the kids and your qualifications. I would just be constantly calling you to make sure everything is in tact.

And I do have to say the way you handle the diabetes really shows how responsible you are. Which is a plus. Good luck.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 4 years ago