Am I too short to play cornerback? (High School Football)?

Ok i'm a sophomore guy in high school. I am weightlifting daily at school with my friends. I asked them what position I should play for football next year. They said cornerback or safety, but I really like cornerback because I tried out for it a couple of years back and I know the fundamentals of it. I didn't make the team though. They say that they recommend cornerback or safety because i'm not the tallest.

I'm only:

5'3

110lbs

Am I too short for cornerback and safety, or am I just too short in general? I can bench 145lbs if that makes a difference and i'm fast enough to keep up with receivers. What do you guys think? Does height even matter when it comes to football?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

It depends in what other talent/experience is in the team if you play the position or not.. If you have the talent and skills you can overcome the size factor.. Good luck.....

• Laura
    Lv 4
    4 years ago