paula asked in PetsDogs · 8 years ago

how to ask about a dog being a service animal?

Update:

I work in retail an have a sign on door for no pets allowed except service animal have a customer who brought in a small dog an said it was a service animal when i asked him about the service he said the dog couldn't be left alone an that he had papers to prove it. well to make along story short i asked him to please take the dog out and he in return said a few choice words and called the town counsel. I need to know how to address this issue because i'm not trying to discriminate against anyone who does truly need the help of a service dog.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Here is the ADA (Federal Govt) website which shows what you can and cannot ask for when someone comes into your establishment with what appears to be a service dog. Print this out and reference it.

http://www.ada.gov/service_animals_2010.htm

Note that there is no requirement for any type of "vest", "ID", or "paperwork" which must be worn or presented when asked. Also note that if the dog is not behaving properly, you have the right to have the animal removed from your establishment.

Source(s): Husband of blind woman who uses a guide dog.
  • 8 years ago

You're allowed to ask two questions:

1. "Is this dog a service animal needed because of a disability?" (Answer must be YES. Only disabled people can have service dogs)

2. "What task or service has the dog been trained to perform?" (Companionship, affection, support or providing security are NOT legal tasks).

http://www.ada.gov/service_animals_2010.htm