A asked in Family & RelationshipsWeddings · 8 years ago

Who throws the engagement party?

My bf and I just got engaged this past Easter Sunday. I'm new to the whole wedding etc stuff and was wondering who usually throws the engagement party? Or do people not really do that now a days?

I feel sad that no one has offered or even brought it up? Am I suppose to bring it up to my family? His? I just figured whomever would just throw a little get together to celebrate our engagement. I suppose it's not something normal in MY family as my 3 other siblings all had children out of wedlock and only one of them got married! When my nephew was 12! So maybe they don't know better?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

A lot of older people have no familiarity with engagement parties. Most people don't have one.

We had one because my family and my fiance's had never really met. They live in another town. Also, at the time, we thought we wouldn't be getting married for about 2 years, so we were wanting to celebrate the engagement because we knew there would be a lot of time in between our engagement and the actual wedding.

We threw it ourselves. Most of family really didn't know what to do... should they bring gifts, how formal, etc. We just had his immediate family and mine and our closest friends over to our apartment one night. I made tea and sangria and food, and people just mingled and got to know each other. A few couples gave us bottles of wine, but most people didn't bring gifts, and we certainly didn't expect any.

• Poodie
    Lv 7
    8 years ago