Combat MOS when the war is dwindling?

If i were to join a combat mos after high school, do you think there would be a point? Im a sophomore and only have 10 days of school left. I graduate in 2 years. Would there be a point in enlisting into a combat mos even after the war is over by then?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

There is always peace keeping missions like Bosnia and they can be like a warzone as well.

• 7 years ago

Your initial MOS is a starting point. As you gain skill and experience you may change to others that are not open to soldiers in their first tour.

After you get in and learn the basic skills you may find there are specialties you wish to learn so you choose a school in that MOS instead of schools in the combat MOS.

A career in the military is a progression of jobs and schools. As an Army officer I first went to Signal Officer Basic as a 2LT. Because of changes I went to Armor Officer Advanced Course a few years later to become qualified for promotion to CPT and MAJ. After I made MAJ I went to Command and General Staff College to be qualified for promotion to LTC.

Enlisted troops have leadership schools as well as MOS specialty schools, so you will be attending several over the course of the years.

But your question about the number of jobs in the military after the Reduction In Force (RIF) when we bring everybody home?

Sorry, I don't have a crystal ball. Almost every Reserve Officer commissioned the same year as I (1972) was released from Active Duty at the end of their obligation during the Post Vietnam RIF. For years before the Army had kept many reserve officers on active duty due to the size of the Army during VN. When it was over they sent all of us back to the reserves. There were also RIF's after the fall of the USSR and two or three others.