Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesPhilosophy · 7 years ago

Is it worth it? Medicine?

Is studying medicine worth the long years and the competition?

It's getting so much harder and all this studying is just to have the name "doctor" even though any person could learn to be a doctor by reading books and doing some work experience, why the hassle?

I for one hate university but I love education, I love to learn I just don't like the system of school, I don't want to regurgitate facts. Do everybody have to follow the cycle of:

Going to college, passing, going to university, passing, getting a job, getting paid, having a family, then your kids do the same all for...the money? If I study for medicine I sure won't do it for the money, just from my heart because I love helping people.

But guess what? My school doesn't give me the opportunity to do sciences because I'm not good at exams, not everyone will be good at exams and school just determines how good you are by the exam results and that's the main problem. Since I'm not good at exams, they made me do coursework yet no one cares for BTEC even the teacher in my college said that when I was taking my interview to apply.

How do you see it?

Please respect my opinion,I am no way condoning drop outs whos intentions are do leave school cos they hate learning/studying. I condone dropping out if they feel that school is not for them and trust me,it's not for everyone. We're all different, however knowledge must carry on with or without school. I prefer independent learning because learning in school is regurgitating facts and using it on an exam that may never help in life.

Thank you in advance.

(Btw how old do you think I am)

Update: