Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 7 years ago

Am I making the right decision?

Prepare for a freaking book here in these details. This is somewhat of a life story. I am in desperate need of help, and would appreciate any input.

I am a sophomore in high school. I'm sixteen years old. I was heralded as a genius at a young age. I was in the gifted and talented program in elementary and middle school, won two spelling bees, scored a 1490 on the SATs in 7th grade, and won a math competition in 8th. My grades are not exactly stellar, but I have a passion for history. I study history on my own. It is a passion. I love reading about it and teaching it. That is what I wanted to do with my life. As a kid, I was incredibly shy, awkward, and ugly. I was picked on in middle school, and my grades were dropping. Not significantly, but they were not very good by any stretch. High school has helped me change my social awkwardness. I have become somewhat of a clown, and people kind of want to be around me now. I have more friends, I am more confident, and I am happy. At least I was. In January of this year, my life started a downward spiral. Last year, I made honor roll once the whole year. I got a 4.0 third marking period last year, but barely maintained over a 3.0 in the others (I wasn't really trying at all). I am still in all honors courses. This year I have been mediocre. My grades are straight up awful. I got a 2.84 last marking period, due to a straight up lack of effort (not studying, not doing homework, etc.). I have become depressed and angry, and feel trapped by the circumstances of my life. I made a decision that no one I knew would have expected: I made the decision to join the United States Marines. It was good for me. I became committed to getting in physical shape for the first time in my life. My mother is angry about it, my father doesn't know what to think, and my grandfather-who served in the marines when he was young-is telling me to