Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw Enforcement & Police · 8 years ago

What should I do about police calling me for questioning?

I am 16 years old and the police have asked me to come in to the station for information regarding an open case. They would not tell me anymore information over the phone. I am a complete honor student, a 99 overall average, in various clubs such as DECA, yearbook, a national academy, and several AP classes. I have never drank, smoked, or done anything illegal. I haven't even aided anyone in doing illegal activity or witnessed anything. I honestly have no clue as to what they would want from me. I agreed to go tomorrow but now i'm leery on going. If I do go and feel uncomfortable, what should I do? Even my friends are all great kids, what would they want? Thank you much.

Update:

I read numerous cases of people asking if they should go in for questioning but they all admitted to doing a crime and are trying to avoid it. I have no crime that I am hiding.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Even if you are 100% innocent, the best thing to do is ask for immunity from prosecution before agreeing to the interrogation. There have been plenty of cases when people thought they have nothing to hide but they ended up under arrest... because they thought honesty will not get them in trouble. WRONG. Do not EVER.... EVER talk to the police without a lawyer or immunity.

Okay look, you don't have to take my word for it. Take the word of a law professor and police detective. Watch this video: www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wXkI4t7nuc‎

If that link doesn't show up, search YouTube for "why you should never talk to police" The thumbnail of the video has a guy in a dark jacket with a bright yellow tie.

• ck
    Lv 6
    8 years ago