I sit by myself at lunch...?

I am currently a sophomore in high school. I go to a huge high school, and there are about 500 kids in the lunch room at one time. Well I used to sit at this large table with some "friends" but they moved to another one and said that there wasn't any room for me left at that one. So me and David (another friend) just sat at our own table together. Well now that it's the end of the year, David has to take all of his exams and therefore goes to a separate lunch, which leaves me alone. I've looked around the cafeteria for a tablet to sit with but didn't find one. I'm dreading school tomorrow because I have to sit by myself again.

Any advice here?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Oh honey! I completely know how you feel! I sat by myself my entire freshman year of high school (now i am a freshman in college.) Even throughout high school and even in college, i sit by myself sometimes. It's hard because we are all social beings. we crave interaction with other people, especially when we see everyone else with people to sit with. It's so weird that soooo many people can go to a school and we can't sit with any of them.... sometimes. It was very hard for me when i entered high school.

But here's what i did: I put myself in a corner so that people wouldn't notice me, and read books, texted people, and played phone games, and made myself look super busy so that no one would question if i was lonely. sometimes its good to just be alone and think and observe the world. but of course it's hard!

now that i am college: guess what? college students don't even care. soooo many college students sit alone (even tho so many others have a group to sit with) i learned that college students view it as simple and "so what?". So now when i'm alone, it's fine. i just eat my food like no big deal.

it's sucks that high schoolers make such a big deal out of it, but in college everyone sits alone at some point.