Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 7 years ago

Need help deciding, should i join Navy or Air Force?

I'm a 19 year old female, I've been considering joining the military for a couple of years now. I'm finally ready but I just need help deciding which branch to go into (Navy or Air Force) can someone give me detailed information on what it's really like GOOD and bad. If you're going through the process right now or have just recently finished A school/C school it'd be great to hear what "today's" Navy and Air Force is like.

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm assuming you know a lot about the military already and just want some first hand experience on joining and the beginning process. I'm entering the Air Force for various reasons (go Air Force!), but my brother is in the Navy. My brother just completed Basic training about six months ago and I am still waiting to go. He described Basic in the Navy as... tough. He sent a letter to his wife once with the statement "they may be breaking my body, but they'll never break my heart!" I've talked to numerous people who have had the same opinion of the experience. Though, he's in tech school now for the next two years and he's loving it! (he's going for electrical tech I believe).

Now for Air Force, I've spoken to a few people out of Air Force basic and now in tech school and they said it kinda sucked. Basic training is hard no matter where you go, but that's why you're joining right? You want a challenge and it's just about determining how much of a challenge you want. Well, my Air Force buddies said that Basic was actually the most sleep they've gotten in years. (Wow, right?) During a lot of the day they didn't have much to do and just slept. And tech school, they love it.