soPOPULAR asked in TravelAir Travel · 7 years ago

First time flying, what should I know?

I am 28 years old; I will be taking my first independent trip to Chicago on May 17th. I usually drive or ride everywhere. This is my first time flying; it's a 2 hour plane ride. I am scared out of my mind. My question is what do I need to know, bringing, ect? Is there a baggage fee? I am thankful for any advice you want to give.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Travelling is a piece of cake. So first, 24 hours before your flight, confirm your flight with the airline. On the day of departure, go at least 2 hours before the scheduled departure. Since it is your first time, go at least 3 hours before. Once you get to the airport, go directly to check in. Make sure that you go to the right terminal when entering the airport, or you will have to travel with your bags through the airport, which is a pain. You will have to wait for about an hour in line for check in.

Check in Procedure:

You give them your itinerary, which should have your ticket number in it. They will ask for a government issued ID. Make sure you bring your passport. Anyways, after you give them your passport, they will check it and give it back to you with your boarding pass. Also during this process, they will check in your bags that you want to check in. Make sure you fall within the limits of their luggage weight and sizes. They will tag your hand luggage and carry ons. After this, you go through security.

Procedures for Security: