Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthMental Health · 7 years ago

Can depersonalization las forever?

I've had depersonalization for two years, it occurred from anxiety attacks. I've gone this long without medication. I feel like I can't deal with this much longer, I don't know if you know what it feels like about to lose your mind 24/7 for two years straight, but it's overwhelming. I just need to know, is it possible this could last forever? It's grown so bad that I have incomplete thoughts, lack of focus and I sleep 16 hours a day. As a freshman I had a 31 act score and a 4.0 gpa and as a junior I make d's and f's and I can barley climb out of bed in the morning. I'd rather be paralyzed than have depersonalization. Can medication even help me?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I've had depersonalisation for 2 years aswell and it is debilitating and I agree that I would rather be physically ill than suffer like this. It's so hard because no one else can really understand how you feel unless they have been there. I am the other way round and my depersonalisation caused my anxiety and depression; I would like, too, to know if it will ever end because it makes me so suicidal and desperate. My doctor says give it time, however I don't feel I have time. We just have to carry on. Sometimes keeping busy helps me and relaxation because it takes your mind away for a while. If you want to chat anymore, message me x

• 7 years ago

First thing you need to do, Cowboy Kenny, is to get yourself to a doctor and have a complete physical.

The body and the mind work together, so if one is out of sync, it automatically will have an effect on the other.