Terraria help. What can/should I be doing next?

I'm a Terraria newb and need help. I have gold everything and have defeated the Eye of the Cthulhu four times, but what next? In order to get into the dungeon I found to possibly get a gold key, I need better armor cuz I'm getting murdered in there. I could go jungle armor, but that's mostly just an increase in mana. i'd love to get a nightmare pickaxe, and while i have demonite ore, it requires shadowspire or whatever you call it and I had thought the eye of cthulhu dropped that, but he doesn't, at least not for me. I also found a floating island but it requires a gold key which, yes, I need to find in a dungeon. Help! I'm feeling very lost and don't know what to do next.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

You need to defeat the Eater or Worlds, a massive worm boss, in order to get a Nightmare Pickaxe and Shadow Armor (which is recommended before venturing into the Dungeon). The EoW drops the Shadow Scales you need.

There are numerous strategies as to how to defeat the EoW, and I won't explain all of them here (go to the wiki page to look at them all), but I will give you some general tips:

An arena is definitely recommended, and, in this case, two or three rows of floating wooden platforms will suffice. Try to make the arena as long as possible (height isn't usually an issue, and long as you have it high enough off the ground initially, ~20 tiles or more), I'd say approximately the length of your screen will be plenty of space to maneuver. Also, the EoW needs to be summoned in the Corruption, so be sure to build it there.

As for armor, your Gold armor is the best you're going to get until you defeat the EoW, so you're set in that respect.