Is a 4.26 weighted GPA good enough to get into a college such as MIT?

I am currently a sophomore in high school and I am interested in pursuing a career in some sort of engineering. I would like to get into one of the best schools out there so I would really appreciate your help and guidance... Thanks :)

Also, it would be great if you could tell me what AP classes I should take in order to get into such a college for engineering... Is four years of foreign language necessary? Etc...

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Okay, your GPA REALLY good, but it's not everything. It's more of where you are ranked among your classmates, and your extracurricular activities. Join clubs and get involved. Most of the people I know that went to top ranking schools participated in a couple of science fairs like this one http://www.societyforscience.org/isef/ and won or was runner up, and they went to summer camps held at MIT or whatever school they wanted to get into. It's a good way of seeing what you like and what it would be like at these schools (You might also be able to ask for a college recommendation letter from one of the faculty members at the school if you get to know them well enough). If not, I would recommend trying to get an internship or research position at places like NASA, NIST, DoD, ATK, Lockheed Martin, wherever you're interested.. during your breaks.

For engineering you want a solid foundation of physics and calculus, so I would take AP physics and calculus. And depending on what type of engineering you want to do (mechanical, electrical, bio, aerospace, computer...) you might want to consider taking AP Physics E&M , biology, computer science, chemistry...

The language requirement really depends on the university you want to apply to. Some only require 2 yrs of foreign language classes and others none at all. So know the admissions requirements for the schools you want to go to.