matt
Lv 5
matt asked in SportsOutdoor RecreationHunting · 7 years ago

Standard pressure .45 acp vs +P in 230 gr JHP?

Apologies if this has been beaten to death. I have a Ruger Commander 1911 4.5" bbl. The owners manual said nothing against the use of +P ammo but I'm wondering if it's necessary. Would +P be of any added benefit in a defensive situation compared to its standard pressure counterpart.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Although practically, I'm not an expert like the others who answered, I'll tell you this:

.45 ACP 230 gr JHP rounds, like the Federal Hydra-Shok, Federal HST, Ranger-T, Remington Golden Saber, and Speer Gold Dot...all those .45 ACP 230 gr JHP rounds shall fully expand and shall penetrate 12-14 inches of 10% ballistic gel (when fired from your 4.5'' barrel pistol); which is quite enough; according to FBI and IWBA standards. The FBI standards suggest at least 12 inches of 10% ballistic gel penetration, but no more than 18 inches of penetration. The IWBA standards suggest at least 12.5 inches of 10% ballistic gel penetration, but no more than 14 inches of penetration.

The +P rounds shall give you more penetration; that is only wanted, if your 230 gr JHP round was fired from a short barrel (3-3.8'') semi-auto-pistol. From these short barrels, the +P rounds are sure to fully expand.

IMHO, if your Ruger Commander is quite new, it shall fire +P rounds without a problem. The Ruger SR45 is known to handle +P rounds well. Also the other Ruger .45 ACP pistols; like the Ruger P's shall handle the +P rounds very well, as do the Glock 21, XD-45, and the newer Colt M1911s.

In short, the +P rounds are clearly better in short-barreled new semi-auto pistols. They're also good in pistols with longer barrels because they'll cause deeper penetration, and they'll also decrease the probability of malfunction by means of cycling for the next round. The +P rounds may penetrate a further 1-1.5'' in 10% ballistic gel.