Atmospheric carbon dioxide and global surface temperature?

"Do you think we need evidence of a direct correlation between atmospheric carbon dioxide and global surface temperature before taking aggressive action"?

Can someone interpret this for me? What exactly is it asking? I don't know exactly how to go about this two-page paper.

PS. I'm not an expert in this subject.. Please help!

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Best Answer

CO2 or carbon dioxide {and also other gases such as methane (CH4), ozone (O3), etc} has been deemed responsible for rise in global temperature. This effect/phenomenon is called the Greenhouse Effect and the gases responsible are called the greenhouse gases. The question here is if we need proofs that co2 is genuinely responsible for global warming(due to greenhouse effect) and take 'aggressive action'.'aggressive action' here is the serious initiatives to curb it's emission. 'aggressive' because co2 has its benefits.

Evidences have already been established that large emissions of it along with other greenhouse gases warms up the global surface temperature and we need to keep co2 at a reasonable level.

Source(s): I study geography and sciences in high school.hope this atleast imparts a little idea
  • 7 years ago

Todo gave you an excellent answer. I will only elaborate on the idea of the greenhouse effect.

During daytime, the sun heats the surface of the earth (about half of the solar energy reaches it). At night, that heat radiates back into space as infrared waves. The balance of which is called, the sun's net radiation.

It is always positive (more gain than loss) at the equator and always negative at the poles. Where I live, in Norway, it is positive about six months of the summer. It means that, for example a high pressure means warm weather during the summer but the same high pressure in January means intense cold.