How does the schooling system work for adults in the Los Angeles area?

Back in Canada, in the city of Montreal, there are two main Public colleges and universities a student may attend and over 10 Private colleges.

For instance, one student may go to either Dawson College or Vanier College (public).

Or Concordia or McGill University (public)

Or, if the student wants a smaller class size and doesn't mind paying over $10k, they can go to CDI College, Herzing, O'Sullivan College or LaSalle College.

Can anyone give me a rundown of the colleges and universities in Los Angeles please? Because when I try to Google search Los Angeles colleges or universities, I get a buttload of online schools. I don't want online, I want a list of fully accredited colleges and universities. The only ones I know about are USC and UCLA. But there must be more out there no?

Update:

Oh! I totally forgot to add which field I wanted to take:

Computer Programming.

I have no prior education or experience but 4 years ago, I had worked for a software company and I was a QA tester. I wouldn't mind doing that again, but I realized that I couldn't keep up with the industry but now I feel I could and have the patience to keep up.

Update 2:

Oh! I totally forgot to add which field I wanted to take:

Computer Programming.

I have no prior education or experience but 4 years ago, I had worked for a software company and I was a QA tester. I wouldn't mind doing that again, but I realized that I couldn't keep up with the industry but now I feel I could and have the patience to keep up.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

This is from wikipedia. You might have to sort through the "private colleges" to weed out the for-profit ones:

There are three public universities located within the city limits: California State University, Los Angeles (CSULA), California State University, Northridge (CSUN) and University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).