Gift ideas for Study Abroad homestay family?

I am studying abroad in Spain this summer and will be staying with a family there. I am supposed to bring a small American gift for them to thank them for letting me stay with them, and for them to remember me by. I have no idea what to bring! Does anyone have any ideas?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

When you say small gift I think:

1)maybe a nice snowglobe of the city you are from.(be careful as this might break)

2) refrigerator magnets of your home town or maybe if you know what city is your homestay family's favorite. I am Non American and for my folks back home anything Hollywood is considered very grand. As a child I was crazy about postcards my bro sent from OK.

3) you didn't mention which place you are in. If you live in any major city, get some wall hanging pertaining to the city. We got a very inexpensive tapestry hanging with all the major tourist spots of san francisco. I LOVE IT.

4) If you know they have kids you can get chocolates like Reese. Everyone enjoys chocolate.

• satbar
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

Gifts For Study Abroad

• Lisa
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

Living with a homestay family is like living with your own family or that of one of your friends. Each family has its own house rules and expectations. Some will let you come and go at will, others will ask you to please let them know, or will be disappointed if you don't make it home for dinner. As for having friends stay over, some can accommodate that and others cannot. Just like being at home, the key is to ask if it is okay to do .... If you just assume things will be acceptable, they will probably get upset. How would your parents like it if they came home and found strange people staying over in their house without warning? Realize that you are a guest in these people's home. It can be a wonderful experience, but you need to behave responsibly and respect their house rules.

• 7 years ago