promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

am I eligible for California or US DREAM act if I'm an F-1 student?

I came to the US with an F-1 Visa before my 16th birthday. I have a high school diploma, current enrolled in college, and have no criminal record. I went back to my home country about 5 times and I'm on my 6th year in the US now. Please give me advices! (with trusted sources). Thank you very much.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

You are an international student, a US visa holder, not unlawfully present, so you are not eligible for anything related to people who have been unlawfully present in the United States.

Source(s): An immigrant from Europe, I live in the charming old mission town San Buenaventura and work as an attorney in Santa Barbara, California.
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • John S
    Lv 7
    7 years ago

The California Dream Act has nothing to do with immigration status. It says that anyone, citizen, resident alien, undocumented alien, etc., who attended a California high school for three or more years, and graduated from a California high school, can pay resident tuition at a California state college and can apply for student aid (though that is available only if funds are available after all other qualified applicants receive funding). If you qualify under these standards, you are eligible.

There is no U.S. Dream Act. Deferred action is a means for some young people to avoid the consequences of being in the U.S. illegally. Since you are not in the U.S. illegally, you do not face those consequences, so being relieved of them would make no sense.

\

Source(s): 35+ years as a criminal defense attorney
  • 7 years ago

There is no U.S. "DREAM" Act or program currently in effect, but many people refer to "Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals" ("DACA") as DREAM because the program has similar objectives. The eligibility criteria for DACA are:

1. Under age 31 on 6/15/12,