Can I shoot a hawk with a pellet gun?

have a hawk in my yard also known as the chicken hawk stalking my hens every day and I have a 760 pumpmaster pellet gun. I was wondering if I could shoot it with my gun

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Kill a hawk get federal slammin in de butt prison time.

• august
    Lv 7
    8 years ago

If you want to be arrested for violating the Federal laws prohibiting shooting or even harassing birds of prey, sure... And a Crosman 760 Pumpmaster would only wound a hawk, so you'd also be doing it in the most inhumane manner possible.

Very stupid idea, honestly.

• Anonymous
    8 years ago

NO, for two reasons. First, it is illegal. Birds such as ospreys, owls, hawks, etc. are federally protected. Second--and less importantly--anything much bigger than blackbird or a starling is going to require more weapon that an air rifle.

Contact your local fish and wildlife agency to see if they can relocate the bird and put chicken wire as a "ceiling" above the pen yuo keep them in.

• Mr.357
    Lv 7
    8 years ago

No. That is a violation of federal law and comes with stiff penalties. Some people shoot, shovel, and shutup, but you have published your intentions around the world.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • chris
    Lv 7
    8 years ago

Nope, hawks are protected birds, build a chicken coup where they can run in to for safety

• 8 years ago

i say do it. protect the property. i hate chicken hawks. they are known for killing small dogs and cats. i know they are doing what they know, but still. its my property. if i saw a chicken hawk going for my pets or live stalk, you better believe it will be one dead hawk.

just remember, its illegal, and the gun might be able to kill it, if not at least get it away from your property for a while.

• Anonymous
    8 years ago