I am an author, and I get no support from white nor black people in the publishing world. Why?

I am an author. I am polite and write well researched books. I am black. Specifically, I am an African. I am a man. I am not cocky, not arrogant, and I don't try to sound smarter than I am. In fact I actively try to maintain a humble attitude when I deal with people. I attend black author networking events, but I am shunned, and it seems already established literary "cliques" want nothing to do with me. Black book clubs do not respond when I write to them, and its hard to build an audience. My books are not trashy or ghetto. Neither do I write about black power, empowerment or any stereotypical stuff that seems to permeate literature from colored people. I write well researched fiction. Forget about whites: if you're black, intelligent and confident they automatically label you as being militant in most cases. I attribute that to the ignorance that permeates how a lot of them are raised. I get no love from them either.

My experience has all been with Americans.

So what do I do? Why the ostracism? How do I break these barriers? Why is the publishing world so stigmatized and race driven?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago

By the way you introduce yourself, you sound both racist AND sexist. What does it matter if you are a man and not a woman?

Since black as well as white have rejected your stuff, why do you feel the need to specify colors? Obviously it has nothing to do with your problems. Wake up. Getting publish is not an easy task. Getting support is not something you get automatically because of color either.

It is very hard to make it in the publishing world. You'll see just as many white writers having problems getting support. Just ask around and you see for yourself. Why do you think there are so many self-published authors?

• Anonymous
    8 years ago

Probably because you apparently expect "support" based on your skin colour.